The Dandelions

.. the mutual admiration and bashing society.

A little nostalgia and some nice songs

Posted by jingoisticbuthornydesperado on July 30, 2008

This is one of the best song I like from Lostprophets. They are not the best band in the world but they have a couple of really good songs. 4am forever is by far one of my evergreen song.

The lyric is gloomy but it is hauntingly similar to my experience. You see, I lost a friend through suicide at the age of only 22+. She was a nice, intelligent girl, with a world of shining possibilities ahead. I dare not say that I have known her for a long time, but the short amount of time I have spent knowing her has been fruitful and rich. I was taken by surprise that she confessed to me in our short time knowing each other that she considered me as one of the very few close friends she had ever had. And the day after, she would be forever lost. Nothing prior to her suicide would have suggested that she had problem with her personal life, considering that she had just married 6 months before her passing.

As I retrospect about our time together, I happened to be listening to this song where I have liked it ever since. This song described well the angst and the sadness of the moment. It was also when I realised, she might had  reluctantly reached out for help but never found the courage.  I thought I caught a glimpse of sadness whenever she was alone, just right at the edge of my view. All was immediately rosy again when she is with company. Well, my subconscious might have dismissed it for false warning. Whatever it is, there will always be a sign of guilt about the ‘what if’ scenario. What if I could have done something, what if I am more sensitive, what if……

Now a year and 4 months after her death, I am finally here in her country of her birth and death. I could at least visit her now some time this week after my working hours.

Anyway enough of gloomy stuff, here are some other genre of music that I listen to depending on my mood.

Ahh, I love this song since I was 6 years old. It was so famous they even cover it in Chinese or was it Cantonese, Kaoma’s Lambada. That was in 1989. Damn I love that booty shaking. Look at the boy and the girl; I would be famous if I can dance like them, lol.

If I want to be dreamily happy, Inner Circle’s Games People Place. Ahh, let’s get psychedelic with Bob Marley and his weed……

And finally, I think this song suits youngsters well, the lyric is not the biblical truth but I think it very much reflect the young desperados in all of us (especially in the face of Malaysian politics……). You know, the part inside you that always one to break free from social norms and be an individual?

The lyric goes like this…

Maybe if you were some spearheaded guy
I would listen to what you have to say
But you’re just some incapable figure
Thinking you’re bigger than me, but you’re not
Yet you don’t know a thing about the youth of today
Stating your opinion making it ring in my head all day

And you say,
“My children weren’t the same”
“My children’s children they’re the ones to blame”
And you say,
“In my day we were better behaved”
But it’s not your day no more…

And we are the youth of today
Change our hair in every way
And we are the youth of today
We’ll say what we wanna say
And we are the youth of today
Don’t care what you have to say at all

And maybe if you had a true point of view
I would listen to you
But it’s just your one sided feelings
They keep getting in my way
And you don’t know a single thing about the youth of today
Stating your opinion making it ring in my head all day

And you say,
“My children weren’t the same”
“My children’s children they’re the ones to blame”
And you say,
“In my day we were better behaved”
But it’s not your day no more…

And we are the youth of today
Change our hair in every way
And we are the youth of today
We’ll say what we wanna say
And we are the youth of today
Don’t care what you have to say at all

And you say,
“My children weren’t the same”
“My children’s children they’re the ones to blame”
And you say,
“In my day we were better behaved”
But it’s not your day no more…

And we are the youth of today
Change our hair in every way
And we are the youth of today
We’ll say what we wanna say
And we are the youth of today
Don’t care what you have to say at all

5 Responses to “A little nostalgia and some nice songs”

  1. missjolie said

    it’s so sad really….a very close family member of mine also succumbed to suicide….so i know what you are feeling, probably even more because this person was closely related. the impact of it on closesd ones are just too much to bear….

  2. simpleU said

    I like the lyrics. Totally can relate with the youngsters these days.. Well, at least for me:)

  3. ella-mae said

    missjolie, i know how it feels too. two very close members of my family committed suicide also.

    thanks for sharing, jingo🙂

  4. Madame said

    Awwwww….Jingo! Dont beat yourself up too badly about this. There is NOTHING that you could have done…and I repeat that. But I’m glad that she knew you and I’m sure that you did bring some joy in her troubled mind. Think of the good times and understand that she was just too fragile to survive the cruelties of this world.

    In most cases, some people are just pre-desposed to this affliction. I call it an affliction bcoz that’s what it is….in some cases. In other cases, I think its commited bcoz of cowardice…not wanting to face the world n such and it also is the SINGLE most cowardly and desperate act that a person can commit….bcoz they leave behind so many questions, guilt and shame.

  5. jingoisticbuthornydesperado said

    You are welcome Ella-Mae, Missjolie. Someone told me this suicide was not suspected to be an act of despair but to get back at the other person. still, i think it was foolish…to hurt yourself to hurt someone. sigh.

Leave a Reply

 
