The Dandelions

.. the mutual admiration and bashing society.

Homosexuality : Fact of Nature or just plain ol’ Perversion…?

Posted by Madame on August 4, 2008

Homosexuality and what it means is a subject that has consumed me (yeah, I know…alot of subjects consume me๐Ÿ˜€ )ever since I found out that my bestest friend in the whole wide world was gay! Strangely enough I was not repulsed or disgusted by it….it made me very, very curious though๐Ÿ˜€ Why is it that society is so keen to condemn what seemed to me, a natural thing/act?

I like boys and He also likes boys๐Ÿ˜‰ Is Homosexuality wrong? Was it because of the bad rap it picked up when AIDS was first identified and publicised with the death of Hollywood legend, Rock Hudson and then later, Musical Genius- Freddie Mercury of Queen? AIDS=Homosexuality? Wait a minute….could religion have something to do with the general homophobic attitude towards homosexuality? So many questions swirled around in my head, I knew that I had to find the answers out for myself…study them and then make my own informed opinion on this subject…and NOT confine myself to a narrow-minded view.

Most major religions seem to deem Homosexuality as sinful… unnatural…. definitely going to burn in Hell and such. I have spent some time researching this subject before my attempt at blogging about it. The results were too confusing….too many conflicting theories and even research cases. Some scientists say that it is a genetic factor that is passed down thru the genes from maternal gay relatives. Some say, its because of the Hypothalamus….its size is similar in women and gay men. Some say its because of the pre-natal hormone make-up. Some others say that its due to environmental factors. Whilst others say….its PURE CRAP…homosexuality is a conscious choice! The Science behind Homosexuality is still in its infancy…so lets give the good scientists time to conduct more extensive research before they can come to a consensus and meanwhile, let me tell what I feel about the subject of Homosexuality.

For me, Homosexuality is NOT a conscious choice…atleast in the people who have a genuine homosexual orientation. This sexual orientation usually manifests itself around the age of 5, or so. I remember, my friend telling that the first time he developed a crush on another boy….he was just 7! At that tender age, children are quite free of any pre-conceived notions and so it felt ‘natural’ and ‘normal’ to him. It was only later during his pubescent years, that he realised that such feelings to members of the same sex isunnatural’, ‘sinful’ and ‘dirty’! Btw, this friend of mine has no gay relatives…or rather ones, in/out of the closet, either on his paternal or maternal side for the last 3 generations! This got me thinking…..a child of such tender years doesnt know the difference between homosexuality and heterosexuality….so what he felt must then be considered natural. He was pre-disposed towards homosexuality. Is that wrong then? I very empahtically say “NO”!!!

Do you think that a normally straight person would chose to be gay in our still very much homophobic society? I dont think so! They are NOT gluttons for punishment๐Ÿ˜‰ Is it easy being gay? Try living in ‘their’ shoes for one day and then perhaps you will understand a little more and learn to accept them fully for the people they are and NOT for their sexual orientation. Why is it so hard for us to accept a person’s sexual differences? I think that its because of the ‘forced indoctrination’ in us…whether it comes from our family, friends or religion.

I feel that its time to stop ‘shaming’ the gay society! Learn to accept gay people for who they are and for how they can enrich your lives. In short, accept gay people with no prejudices whatsoever! They are human and deserve the respect that every human being is entitled to! I, for one , do know that being straight has definitely NOT made me a better person than my gay best friend!

I leave you then with this question : Does being gay….make one, any less of a person???

24 Responses to “Homosexuality : Fact of Nature or just plain ol’ Perversion…?”

  1. saggiethewarrior said

    What one does in the bedroom is one’s business I say…

    By the by..Saggie very straight..

  2. Maylee said

    Frankly, i don’t see anything wrong with homosexuality. These people have the right to live their own lives. Who knows, they live a happier life than any of the normal people do๐Ÿ™‚ But unfortunately, they are the “abnormal” group, therefore, they attract unpleasant attention from the public.

  3. Madame said

    Maylee,

    Well said! Who are we to judge, right?!

  4. Danny said

    A person is a person. That’s it… don’t judge

  5. Yoyo said

    Yes, we don’t judge, I don’t too. But what if it happens to our children. Can we accept it?? ;-(

  6. missjolie said

    Yoyo,
    Like it or not you have to. Unless you can live the rest of your life without them, then by all means go ahead.

  7. Yoyo said

    Missjolie,

    It’s easier said than done. Their moms would probably accept it but not their dads..don’t you agree to a certain extent??

  8. missjolie said

    I believe all parents will accept it. Be it moms or dads. it doesn’t mean a dad will love their son/daughters any less than their moms. Love will conquer all.

  9. Yoyo said

    I certainly hope so๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Madame said

    Yoyo,

    Isnt parenting all about unconditional love? Well…that’s what parenthood should be about…incase, its not.

    Thanks, people for all the positive feed-back. It does my heart glad to see that we are on the right path to becoming a tolerant and more respectful society๐Ÿ™‚

  11. mesoso said

    i am gay and i think i have been absolutely normal in every sense of the word..๐Ÿ™‚

  12. jingoisticbuthornydesperado said

    cool, get away barbie, he is mine!

    Hello, how are you?๐Ÿ˜‰

  13. barbie said

    barbie yet to say anything๐Ÿ˜€ what mesoso means?

  14. jingoisticbuthornydesperado said

    or Barbie pretending to be mesoso? hmmmmmmmm

  15. Amused Taxpayer said

    Gay or Straight…..everyone has the right to decide what’s best for themselves…..and as a parent, though I may not agree with some of the choices my kids make in the future, sexual orientation included, I’ll be darn sure to be there by their side and holding their hands when they have to face the big bad world……perhaps even clawing the eyes out of whoever dares to make life miserable for my grown up babies…… ;p

  16. Madame said

    Awwwww….well said, Amused Taxpayer! BIG virtual hug to you๐Ÿ˜‰

    Mesoso is Barbie??!! LOL*

  17. barbie said

    ehem, mesoso is not me.

  18. mesoso said

    mesoso is a “str8” behaving gay male..meaning, a manly, your guy next door professional with no hang-ups about his sexuality..i just see myself as a man who prefers the company of men, in every sense of the word. period.

  19. jingoisticbuthornydesperado said

    cool down mesoso, no one here is judging you. :d

    maybe you have an advice to other confused individuals out there who are looking for answers.๐Ÿ™‚

  20. saggiethewarrior said

    Yep..no one’s judging anyone here…just kidding around as we all are crazy bunch of horny pansies…

  21. jingoisticbuthornydesperado said

    nonono, i am the craziest horniest of the pansies. lol

  22. saggiethewarrior said

    I second that..you need richter scale to measure Jingo’s horniness level…

  23. barbie said

    battle of the horniness is on!!!!!

  24. mesoso said

    aiya..i am cool lah..calm down girls..
    well..my advice to confused individuals..just relax man, there are much bigger and greater things in life to care about than our little birdies down there. just have to look around you. you girls want me to get all philosophical ah?? aiyah..gonna take up 20 pages leh..haha

    if you wanna know, i used to have tonnes of gfs too..one after another. it was fun but i prefer my present male friends…haha

Leave a Reply

 
