The Dandelions

.. the mutual admiration and bashing society.

Hear my dream, Permatang Pauh…

Posted by ella-mae on August 26, 2008

This Thursday 45 years ago, in what is still considered until today to be the definitive moment of the American Civil Rights Movement, Martin Luther King, Jr spoke his dream from the steps of the Lincoln Memorial.

The speech which I first heard as twenty year old year in university left me teary-eyed because for the first time in my life I had to face racial polarisation which I never had to in school or in the neighbourhood where I grew up.

The first few months in my campus surroundings left me terribly disheartened because I was expected to hang out with only “my own kind” and my seniors would express disapproval if I mingled a little too closely with a person of another ethnicity.

Things have not changed since I left university. If anything, it has only gotten worse. “Sifat Toleransi” actively promoted by the BN government in the education system has only left us superficially united.

In my book the word tolerate is probably one of the more despicable words because to tolerate means “to put up with”, “to stomach” or “to endure” something one would otherwise never be quite at ease with. Not a good thing when I have tolerate my fellow countrymen – how can we be united if we have to stomach and put up with one another’s differences?

Barisan Nasional Neraka has done this to us through their many divide and rule policies which have caused us to view one another with distrust and wariness.

Just yesterday I met a fellow “my kind” who thought the only way Malaysia can be saved is through a violent movement in reminiscent of demagogues launched by megalomaniacs like Hitler. I spent a good hour giving him a dressing down: enlightening the guy – telling  him the way he thinks very clearly  shows that he too is a successful product of evil BN policies and propaganda.

Trust me, there are many out there who still think like him.

Anwar Ibrahim promises Ketuanan Rakyat will replace Ketuanan Melayu when Pakatan Rakyat becomes the government. While the politicians of the BN kind are spewing hate at every chance they got, I was deeply touched when I heard Anwar speak Anak Melayu, anak kita, anak Cina… anak kita, anak India… pun anak kita. Mengapa harus kita bezakan?”

Of course like you, I too have heard things about him, what Anwar did when he was part of the dreadful BN. But I believe while every man has a past, he also has a future.  Six years in prison: away from loved ones and the public eye must have given Anwar much time to think of and ponder on his past sins. I believe the Anwar Ibrahim we see and hear today is indeed a changed man,  and that he is the one who can bring about the changes and reforms Malaysia so desperately needs for survival.

Today, the 58, 000 plus voters of Permatang Pauh have the magnanimous task of deciding Malaysia’s future! As Martin Luther King, Jr shared his dream with his fellow Americans, I too would like to share my little dream with the people of Permatang Pauh (and you).

I dream of the day when we will cease to exist as Malays, Chinese, Indians or “dan lain-lain” but for us to truly be united as Bangsa Malaysia.

I dream of the day when all Malaysian citizens will consciously work to encourage national integration while mutually respecting and loving one another.

I dream of the day when Malaysians will not view another with doubt and suspicion but to stand guard against every form of extremism, chauvinism, racism and isolation.

I dream of the day when colour of skin will not matter, ethnicity will not matter and religious affiliation will not matter.

I dream of the day when the same treatment and opportunities will be accorded equally to every Malaysian with no marginalisation of any ethnic race.

I dream of the day when political parties will truly serve Malaysia: the nation, and not themselves or their members with leaders who will rule over the land honestly with integrity, wisdom in financial management and honest stewardship of all things that has been entrusted to them by the people of Malaysia.

I dream of the day when a national commitment is implemented to expose and remove corrupted individuals and may their positions be replaced by people of good standing who are willing to serve the country well while performing their duties effectively.

I dream of the day when transparency, integrity and impartiality will not be mere words used to “colour” outwardly impressive political speeches but to honestly be used in every good judgment for excellent governance of our beloved nation.

Permatang Pauh, I pray for a just outcome of the by election: I pray you will set aside every prejudice, every preconception and vote in all honesty from your heart… for what is best (right now) for Malaysia: She has suffered so much, our nation, our beautiful motherland.

I am in an emotional mood right now but before I go, let me share a simple chorus from one of my favourite songs…

Hear our prayer

Oh Lord, God Almighty

Come heal our land

As we seek you, worship you

Lord, I pray you will restore and recompense all that we have lost in the past. I pray tonight we will see the birth of a Better Malaysia. Amen!

23 Responses to “Hear my dream, Permatang Pauh…”

  1. erniejean said

    Yes Ella Mae, I, too, share your hopes and dreams.

    Here’s to praying for a brand new chapter for all Malaysians.

  2. ella-mae said

    let every works of the enemy against the righteous fail miserably, erniejean!

    amen for a brand new chapter in malaysian history🙂

  3. barbie said

    I know this is corny but.. it’s always relevant😛

    “May the Force be with YOU!”

    Ahaks!

  4. tomatoinc said

    nicely said. i have picked up your ‘dream’ and post it along..

  5. I have a dream said

    Yes to bangsa Malaysia. I have always adressed myself as Malaysian, never a Chinese when I am in foreign country. But in my own country, Malaysia, the government said we must address ourselves as Malay, Chinese, Indian or “lain lain”. Really sad.

  6. wits0 said

    “There is a tide in the affairs of men.
    Which, taken at the flood, leads on to fortune;
    Omitted, all the voyage of their life
    Is bound in shallows and in miseries.
    On such a full sea are we now afloat,
    And we must take the current when it serves,
    Or lose our ventures.”

    Julius Caesar Act 4, scene 3, 218–224

    The time is right, the favorable planets are in proper conjunction and we doubt not that the stars are fire, or that the Sun doth move. The weighty bad Karma of a wretchedly infamous governance shall see to its own demise from this very day.

    Let it be – with a great landslide! 😉

  7. 2 cents said

    wah..ella-mae…45 + 20 means you 65 years old oredi ah?? but you sound like a twenty something gal leh…😛

  8. ella-mae said

    LOL! :p

  9. mesoso said

    i also have a dream but…better not say..hehehe🙂

  10. ella-mae said

    thanks, guys for the laughs. i really need it today. so nervous😦

  11. bennyloh said


    WOKAY, VOTE ANWAR!

  12. pervster said

    i have dreams every night…rather not talk about it…

    no mesoso…you were not in my dreams…

    anyway…the people of permatang pauh….please make us all proud!!

    -D

  13. mesoso said

    aiyah..pervster..my dreams only has barbie in it..sorry hor. i also only go inside barbie’s dreams nia nia..😛

  14. Let us all pray for a peaceful by-election
    With smooth balloting at every polling station
    Bearing in mind the need to keep good name of nation
    Let all parties do their own things without friction

    (C) Samuel Goh Kim Eng – 260808
    http://MotivationInMotion.blogspot.com
    Tue. 26th Aug. 2008.

  15. barbie said

    What? ella-mae is 65? Then I am in my 40’s hahahahahahaa!

  16. ella-mae said

    correction, barb … then u will be half a century old😉

  17. barbie said

    Eh sorry, miscalculated😛 15 years gap, not 25. My bad.😛

  18. ella-mae said

    so mesoso, now u know u are a cradle-snatcher :p

  19. mesoso said

    aiyoh ella-mae, mesoso only 28 leh..just nice wat..me and barbie..😀

  20. jingoisticbuthornydesperado said

    your prayers have been answered.🙂

  21. ella-mae said

    not yet. but the first part is over. we still need to see anwar at work bringing to pass all that he has promised. i hope he will not let malaysians down.

  22. mesoso said

    mesoso thinks there’s gonna be even more and more obstacles thrown his way..but like everything else we have seen, nothing’s gonna stop DSAI and all of us from achieving the dreams that we believe in…

    mesoso so so happy today. hope my barbie’s ecstatic too…
    😀

  23. jingoisticbuthornydesperado said

    yup indeed, ella, indeed.🙂

Leave a Reply

 
