The Dandelions

.. the mutual admiration and bashing society.

A tribute to Raja Petra Kamaruddin. Thank You, Sir!

Posted by Madame on August 27, 2008

The mere thought of blogging again is a daunting one for me, I find. Could I be suffering from ‘Writer’s Block’? Perhaps…. ‘Brain Freeze’? Yeah…most likely😉 However, yesterday’s resounding election victory in Permatang Pauh for Anwar Ibrahim got me thinking and has kinda galvanized me…for, it is a pivotal moment for Malaysia. Malaysia now finally has a fair chance at democracy….it has taken us 51 years to get there….but so what, we are slowly getting there….and that’s what matters!🙂

Malaysia and Press Freedom is like mixing water and oil. The BN government has always suffocated freedom of expression and thought. The one thing that we got under Badawi, was the sudden explosion of politics in Blogosphere. So for this, I must pause to say….”Thank you, Mr. Badawi for the slight freedoms that you have given us” ;) Badawi has given us way more freedom than his predecessor did. Was this because he cares more about freedom of expression or was he just plain inefficient? I tend to favour the latter😀

I personally think that Blogosphere was/is responsible for the sudden political awareness amongst Malaysians. I think that we can also give the bloggers huge credit for March 8th and most recently, for Permatang Pauh. There are many bloggers who we owe a debt of gratitude to like Zorro, Anil Netto, Susan Loone, The Dandelions (ahem…ahem😉 )and oh-so-many more…but…is there any one person that I would like to single out for his contribution to this new found political awareness amongst Malaysians? Yes, there is…..it would have to be the one and only YM Raja Petra Kamaruddin or RPK, for short.

This one man must surely go down in Malaysian history for his bravery and wits in daring to take on the BN machinary. He boldly goes where others fear to tread…and he does it all with grace, smarts and humor! He surely has become the Conscience of Malaysia. I think that he has given us courage to question and debate governmental policies. I salute you, YM RPK for your convictions and your courage!

Do I always agree with what RPK has to say? Nope! Quite often I find myself disagreeing and at times even find his ‘theories’ too far-fetched…BUT…what RPK does is, he makes me stop to ponder….and that is what matters to me. He gives me food for thought…it is then upto to me to ponder, investigate and then draw my own conclusions. He brings so many relevant matters out into the open….which is sadly not covered by the MSM. For me, RPK has become my very own MSM😀

RPK embodies the true spirit of democracy, I think. He is not afraid to be put under ISA or face the ‘famed’ Malaysian courts😉 I applaud him for his strength and his selflessness! Do I idolise the man? Nope! But I do admire all that he stands for greatly.

So…I’d like to say a BIG “Thank You, Sir” to YM Raja Petra Kamaruddin for showing me the way🙂

LONG LIVE MALAYSIA!!!! LONG LIVE DEMOCRACY!!! And now at last I can proudly say……Malaysia mungkin Boleh!!!😀

Malaysia-Today can be accessed through this link

http://mt.harapanmalaysia.com/2008/

27 Responses to “A tribute to Raja Petra Kamaruddin. Thank You, Sir!”

  1. wits0 said

    Someone at Susan’s made a big hoo haa about RPK being a racist for statements made wrt mamaks. I called that one, supercilious, because RPK has criticized not just mamaks but others as well in the past.

  2. Madame said

    I agree, Wits0…RPK has been quite unbiased with his criticisms🙂

  3. barbie said

    Ah! I love the last part “Malaysia mungkin Boleh!” HAHA!

    Wits0, convenient arguments. We all aware RPK has criticized anything that moves. LOL!

  4. Madame said

    HAHAHAHAHHAHHA…..anything that moves?!😉

  5. wits0 said

    One can’t be a great writer while permanently tied to the umbilicus of that PC womb. Truth supercedes the niceties of obscurantism.

    Only when the hat fits, then wear it! The lotus plant in a pond is impervious to the muddy water on which it grows.

    The supercilious one there at Susan’s can throw a fit, for all I care! 😀😀

  6. LC Teh said

    Maybe you also have to thank Dr M for that clause of ‘no censorship’ in the internet. They are now having headache how to stop bloggers from speaking out…

  7. mesoso said

    yeah…kita semua pun BOLEH…!!😀

  8. ella-mae said

    mesoso… correction. kita semua pun mungkin BOLEH😉

  9. Rosli said

    This is awesome and let’s wait for the next move.

  10. mesoso said

    ella-mae ah..if barbie hold my hand hor, mesoso memang pasti boleh!!

  11. pervster said

    Daulat Tuanku!!!!

    -D

  12. Surind said

    Need the support of all Barisan Rakyat supporters!

    (TM Nut – Blocked MT, Invasion of Privacy, Censorship, Throttling P2P & Torrent Bandwidth, NST Printing Garbage!)

    http://surind.blogspot.com/2008/08/if-streamyx-endorses-censorship-piracy.html

  13. missjolie said

    Well said Madame!!! This tribute is timely indeed with the victory last night at Permatang Pauh…Anwar owes it to RPK and all the other bloggers😉

  14. azizi said

    Agree. Raja Petra is a brave man. We owe it to all the bloggers. There’s one name i would also like to give a BIG thank you. Abang Isham – Tukar Tiub; he has also done a good job, tirelessly giving first hand update on what’s happening in PP.

    Thank you Abang Isham, oghang kampong den. he he (can’t help it)

  15. erniejean said

    I also would like to thank the emergence of TOTAL INCOMPETENCENESS in our current leaders, for without them, Malaysian wouldn’t have discovered their voices thru the blogosphere……….

  16. Shanmugaratnam said

    YM RPK,
    I have to agree with the majority here.
    You have ventured into uncharted territory where NO MALAYSIAN have ventured before, and as a result gave us Malaysians an alternative avenue for NEWs and emboldened others to follow suite.

    GOD bless You and all other bloggers.

  17. jingoisticbuthornydesperado said

    You are right Madame! RMAOLGHDKWJE!

  18. mesoso said

    ABCDEFG…..!!😛

  19. zee said

    well, how can i disagree with u guys, RPK u hav made the impossible became achievable, indeed u are God sent when this nation needed the most. syabbas n may god bless u n rest of the bloggers!

  20. Angela Ooi said

    I so absolutely agree with you. Our RPK is THE one person that forced me to go online just to read his blog. Before that, even though I read the 3 English papers daily, I was really getting alot of crap and lies from the BN govt. Now we all know better. Daulat Tuanku dear, dear Raja Petra!

  21. wits0 said

    Malaysia mungkin Boleh!!!😀 – Madame

    Okay you’re now accepted on probation, M’sia.

  22. Madame said

    😀 Wits0! Btw, hv u been watching the DNC coverage?

  23. wits0 said

    No, Madame, I can’t stand that “Messiah’s” face anymore!

  24. Madame said

    Ooooh…..ok!😉 I am pro-democrat, just incase u didnt figure that one out😀

  25. wits0 said

    Yes, I knew(75% certain), but an empty suit is still an empty suit.😉

  26. Eastern Eye said

    A Tribute – Words cannot potray or try to do justice to RPK’s contribution to Malaysian society, thoughts and politics.

    At times RPK may have seemed off-the-cue but man … He did it.

    On behalf of all right-thinking Malaysians – Thank you, a trillion times and more if this space allows it.

  27. missjolie said

    ALL HAIL RPK! The Robin Hood of Malaysia😉

Leave a Reply

 
