The Dandelions

.. the mutual admiration and bashing society.

Music of my heart (Part 1)

Posted by jingoisticbuthornydesperado on September 21, 2008

One of my favourite bands of all time is Mana. Any Latin music lovers out there? Mana would be a good choice, it is a Mexian band. Mariposa Traicionera and Bendita La Luz. Don’t ask me what it means! I only know a few Spanish words here and there but not enough to even construct a sentence. I desperately trying to sign up for a Spanish Language course!

Muse is also top on my list with its distinctive adventurous musical taste. I feel like it is more towards sort of an emotive metal rock group. Sing for Absolution is great, it feels ethereal and psychedelic while Supermassive Black Hole is a metal music with a pop spin.

Stereophonics can never be counted out as well. I first came to notice the band when I was watching Crash, and the soundtrack ride where the movie ends was fantastic. So I decided to google it up and I found Stereophonics and came into realisation that Maybe Tomorrow is the single that I like a lot. Another single which strikes a chord with me is Mr. Writer due largely to the state of Malaysia’s MSM.

Of course I do like female artistes too. Imogen Heap is my epitome of ultimate adorable and charming eccentricity. Take a look at Headlong and I dare anyone of you not to like this video. Sheryl Crow, I like, but I have problem trying to identify her musical genre. I like her James Bond music, Tomorrow Never Dies.

Next time: Why some of the dandelions have complimented or accused me (depending on how I want to look at it) of being a Neolithic cave painting, in the midst of Leonardo Da Vinci’s and Michelangelo’s paintings because I happen to like oldies like Frank Sinatra and Bobby Darin? Should I blame this on ageism?

30 Responses to “Music of my heart (Part 1)”

  1. Anyone into the Ting Tings?

  2. azizi said

    i a fan of MANA.. you should listen to Labios Compartidos, Manda una senal, el rey tiburon and many more. try to download the album “Amar es Combatir” – meaning? to love is to fight…

    the vocalist name is christopher olivero… from lime wire you can download the mpg file of labios compartidos and manda una senal…

    love those songs… you’ll sure gonna love them…

  3. […] Music of my heart (Part 1) Tags: music Tags: music […]

  4. jingoisticbuthornydesperado said

    Thanks Azizi, me too. I have actually heard all the songs you recommended. I am especially in with love Manda Una Senal, and I can actually recall the chorus for that particular single and sing it.😀

    Yeah I have read up a bit about christopher Olivero, he seems to be a little bit like Bono. Apparently most of his songs are about painful love though, lol, that is after seeking consultation about the meaning of the lyrics and the songs from a Spanish language expert.😀

    I like Rayando El Sol and Cuando Los Angeles Lloran.

  5. azizi said

    Yeah, you are right, the meaning of the songs are about love. for example labios compartidos. it’s about this man’s girl having an affair with another man… (have you seen the video?) those are also nice songs you mentioned.

    mi hablar un poquito espanol. pero no mucho! last time i work for a venezuelan company and the boss gave me el libro (a book) spanish grammar. i could speak fluently last time, but since i left the company (or shall i say the company left me) he he (closed down)… i’m in too spanish songs so much as they are nice and melodious…

    thanks for replying tho…

    take care…

    is the takeover gonna happen?

  6. barbie said

    I enjoy Muse and Stereophonics. Spanish songs? Er.. Daddy Yankee and Sean Paul. HAHAHAA!

  7. delcapo said

    cool… we should exchange music sometime (when i start my other blog)

    new Portishead album is pretty good to… brings us back to the heydays of Voodoo beats TipHop

  8. missjolie said

    I’m a big fan of Latin jazz!

  9. jingoisticbuthornydesperado said

    any recommendation missjolie?

    Portishead? My friend loves them!

  10. missjolie said

    I can recommend you Frank Emilio and Chuco Valdez, they’re Cuban btw and very nice!… I also like Celia Cruz, Santana and Luis Bonfa ….

  11. jingoisticbuthornydesperado said

    I love santana, Black Magic Woman is one of them. The others i will try to download😀

  12. missjolie said

    Manha de Carnaval by Luis Bonfa. Really poignant and beautiful this one.😉

  13. jingoisticbuthornydesperado said

    ok thank you a lot Missjolie. Blowing kisses to you.😀

    Barbie,
    Sean Paul is not Spanish! Yes indeed, Muse and Stereophonics are one of my all-time favourites too. I have my real-life muse, the sexiest one in this thread, THE Black Magic Woman!😉

  14. missjolie said

    Whilst I’m at it. Anyone into American jazz ? I also really like Lee Ritenour, Dave Brubeck, Chris Botti….and older ones (RIP) ; Stan Getz, Charlie Parker, Miles Davies, Duke Ellington…

  15. jingoisticbuthornydesperado said

    I know the more modern Chris Botti, I think Katie Melua can’t be considered Jazzie too, the only old know ones I know is Big Band Basie, and Glenn Miller and Artie Shaw

  16. jingoisticbuthornydesperado said

    I love Glenn Miller, In the mood and Boogie Woogie

  17. Madame said

    Spanish music? I love the Gypsy Kings, too

    Jazz? I love American jazz…Yep, Dave Bruebeck, Grover Washington, Al Jarreau n sooooo many more.

    Female jazz singer? Laura Fygi, wins hands down for me🙂

    Jingo…I love big band music too like Glen Miller.

    What can I say? I looooove, live and breathe music….except for pop and hip-hop, cant make sense of these 2 genres😉

    A man without music is like a man without a soul….🙂

  18. Abracadabra said

    I thought you are a woman?!

  19. azizi said

    what about julio iglesia? el amor, amor amor amor, paloma blanca and some other nice songs i can remember the title.

  20. jingoisticbuthornydesperado said

    julio inglesias, i only know he sang one or two popular and melancholic english songs. is he not the father of enrique?

  21. Madame said

    Jingo…didnt you know that I was man in drag??😀

  22. missjolie said

    A very nice looking drag too may I add! Damn!

  23. Madame said

    HAHAHAHHAHHAHAHHAHHAHHA….thks, Babe! Soooo loving u rite now😀

  24. INVISIBLE MAN said

    any want like my music…Bangawan So Long!

  25. INVISIBLE MAN said

    hOw about Sudirman, Alleycat and Namewee a.k.a Wee Meng Chee? Support local song lah!

  26. INVISIBLE MAN said

    i like Enrique…do u want to be my HERO!

  27. INVISIBLE MAN said

    Ok!..now serious one..my fav has to be in mood, time and place,
    1.Lounge, House, Jazz Mix and Light & Easy – Relax Mood at Home or Hotel Lounge / Buddha Bar is nice.
    2. R&B, Soul, Club Mix – for Crazy HipHop Mood

    Hey Guys, if u want to get some real good music..go n visit Curve groundfloor, i cant recall the name of the Music Shop..cool one, good collection.
    MissJolie, i m very sure u will like it…;)

  28. Madame said

    Oooops….major boo-boo there….I meant.,

    ABRACADABRA…didnt u know that I was a man in drag?😀

    Sorry, Jingo….brains fried!😉

  29. azizi said

    yeah right! enrique’s dad…

    try to listen to amor, hey, la paloma blanca, me va me va.. for a start

  30. […] Music of my heart (Part 1) […]

Leave a Reply

 
