The Dandelions

.. the mutual admiration and bashing society.

Alternative music (the old, the undergound and the cool)

Posted by jingoisticbuthornydesperado on October 6, 2008

When I listened to one of Pink Martini’s singles today, I never thought it was an American band because it sounded so Spanish. Their single, ‘Let’s Never Stop Falling In Love’ is so beautiful. It sounded like a song from the 1940s or 1950s. Pink Martini is actually a fairly recent band founded in 1994. They release three albums, the third album was released in 2007.

Life In Mono was a hit song by Mono in Europe during the mid-1990s. Unfortunately for them and maybe for me too, it is a one hit wonder. Mono is now defunct. Don’t think it was popular enough to even go underground……

One of more recent bands which I have just discovered, Thirteen Senses, is indeed a wonderful band. It is unlike any indie band that I have listened to. The musical style seems to be somewhere in between Radiohead (but less eccentric) and Muse (but less heavy). Their album, Contact, which was released in 2007 is a highly recommended album. One of my favourite single from this album is ‘Ones and Zeros-You and I’.

Country music seems to sound a little Celtic to me sometimes, maybe because these cowboys from USA might have some Irish roots in the past from their immigrant ancestors. Seriously, I am not joking! I like Irish music a lot and when I listen to country music, it does bear some resemblance with Celtic roots. Other than the Eagles, Brad Paisley is the first person in the more recent time to introduce me to Country music. I especially like this video, ‘Celebrity’. He sure knows how to poke fun at himself! And William Shartner’s impersonation of Simon Cowell, lol!

2 Responses to “Alternative music (the old, the undergound and the cool)”

  1. Madame said

    Jingo,

    The Eagles are one of the greatest bands….EVER!!!! Have all their albums. Love ’em! Btw, I can play brilliant air guitar for Hotel California, if you should ever need my assistance😀

    I like Country music too! My faves wud be Alan Jackson, Keith Urban, Vince Gill, Diamond Rio, Alabama and oh-so-many more🙂 Dont like blue-grass n honky tonk country tho. Prefer the more modern variety.

  2. […] My previous post on music includes Alternative music (the old, the undergound and the cool) […]

Leave a Reply

 
